Student interns to be recognized; community advocates honored

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email

JANS – The Rosemont Human Services and Jefferson County Hospital Partial Hospitalization Program will sponsor an appreciation banquet for student interns. These students have volunteered over 3500 hours toward their requirements from Alcorn State University, Aurora University, Jackson State University, Tougaloo College, and Walden University School of Social Work.

“Our interns have been very instrumental in providing direct services to the Rosemont Food Pantry and they have assisted in organizing and facilitating Psychotherapy Groups through Jefferson County Hospital Partial Hospitalization Program,” commented organizer Lucas Watson. a longtime social worker.

The banquet will be on Friday, April 19, 2024, at 6:00 p.m. at Jackson State University E-Center. The address is 1230 Raymond Rd., Jackson, MS 39204.

The event doubles as an awards program. This year’s honorees will again be individuals dedicated to improving the quality of life of the underserved:

Amanda Cavett, Community Advocate

Barbara Weathersby, LPN, MS Baptist Hospital

Dr. Billy Brown, Community Advocate

Cassandra Bingham, Social Services

Cassandra Welchlin, Executive Director of the MS Black Women’s Roundtable

Charles Shepphard, Communication

Donald Sutton, Community Advocate

Dorothy Burrell, Contracted Court Security Officer with the United States Marshals

Jackie Hampton, The Mississippi Link

Dr. Jacqueline Loggins, Education

Jaribu Hill, Mississippi Workers’ Center for Human Rights

Dr. Mary Nelum/ Dr. Olga Osby, Consultant for Clean Slate Behavioral Health, LLC

Sadie O’Quinn Winn Green, Community Advocate

Pastor Terry Davis, First Hyde Park Baptist Church

The theme for the program is “Destination Liberation: Social Workers Empowering Change”.

For tickets and more information, call 601-421-4051 or email

Republish This Story

Copy and Paste the below text.

Student interns to be recognized; community advocates honored

By Jackson Advocate News Service
March 18, 2024