Jackson among three metropolitan cities selected for Change Collective

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email

JANS – The Change Collective’s second cohort are uniting stakeholders in Chicago, Detroit, and Jackson to create action plans that address an array of challenges in distressed communities. A total of 23 residents from each city are meeting in Chicago  to initiate the year-long campaign. The National Change Lab ends February 2, 2024.

“Real change happens at the local level, and we need to empower real people to drive that change in the ways they know will best serve their communities,” said Kalisha Dessources Figures, Senior Fellow at Civic Nation, the parent organization of the Change Collective. “We’ve been inspired by the potential and dedication of Jackson changemakers in the first Change Collective cohort, and we are so excited to continue to support and develop Jackson’s future leaders on their paths driving effective change and innovation in their communities.” 

In Jackson, cohort members will work with their communities to address issues like the water crisis, public health, and economic development. For starters:

• Azia Wiggins will work with historically overlooked communities in Jackson to give them the tools to build power and take action to improve the infrastructure and programs they need, including expanding Medicaid and tackling the water crisis.  

• Kia Jones will develop collaborative strategies to address public health inequities and advance disease prevention through community organizing and policy change. 

• Robert Patrick will build bridges and invest in the people of Jackson by creating a community collective focused on economic development, workforce training, and political education.

Also assisting in these initiatives are Jackson team members: Robyn Breland, Anthony Causley-Jackson, Gus Daniels-Washington, John Dillon Harris, Krystina Hart, KeArndra Hart, Ayana Jones, Equiller Mahone, Toya Martin, Tommy Nalls, Kuwasi Omari, Saletheo Perez, Lucas Posey, Valencia Robinson, Michelle Simon, Christina Spann, Lenderrick Taylor, Mandesha-DeSha’ Thornton, Michelle Weems, and Kaylin Winters.

Republish This Story

Copy and Paste the below text.

Jackson among three metropolitan cities selected for Change Collective

By Jackson Advocate News Service
February 5, 2024