2021 Virtual Jackson Music Awards winners

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email
Jesse Thompson
Terrell Brinson
Tiger Rogers
Vick Allen
Bobby Rush

By Brinda Fuller Willis, PhD
Jackson Advocate Contributing Writer

The 2021 Jackson Music Awards held an all-virtual event that spanned all weekend from July 31-August 2, 2021, and was hosted by super musician, producer, Donovan Scott, with a kickoff reception.

Scott and Jesse Thompson, president of the Jackson Music Awards, kicked off the weekend with a stellar performance by Ben “Strings” Sterling with his “Friends” single. Mike Rob and the Good Vibrations Band followed up with his “Get Up, Stand Up” R&B/Reggae groove with special guest Ben “Strings” on bass and Ameri Kerry on vocals.


  • City with Soul – Night Club of the Year: 4th Avenue Lounge
  • City with Soul – Beauty Shop of the Year: Stage 2
  • City with Soul – Barber Shop of the Year: Hair Explosion
  • City with Soul – Restaurant of the Year: Stamps Super Burgers
  • City with Soul – Comedian of the Year: Rita Brent



  • Female Vocalist of the Year: Tonya Ware
  • Group of the Year: Ontarion Showers and Delivered
  • Song of the Year by: A National Single Artist:Jahana Jones McCoy – “A Happy Song”
  • Jackson Gospel Radio Announcer of the Year: Claude Stevens
  • National Male Lead Singer of a Group: Martin Luther Wardlaw
  • Musician of the Year: Toby Johnson
  • National Group of the Year: The Virginia Aires
  • Male Lead Singer of the Year (The Jimmie Ray Lewis Award): Bishop Michael Nesby
  • Mississippi Spotlight Artist of the Year: Jermaine Hawkins and The Harvey Spirituals
  • Mississippi Gospel Radio Announcer of the Year: Jerome J. Myles – WTYJ, Natchez, Mississippi
  • Album of the Year Recorded By An Upcoming Artist: “The Press” – Ontario Showers and Delivered
  • Best Engineered Recording: “Stand Up” – Damon Little
  • National Gospel Spotlight Artist of the Year: Joanna Hale McGill
  • The Linzy “Don” Dixon Memorial Award: Esther Wooten



  • National Producer of the Year: Donovan Scott
  • Pop Group of the Year: Faze 4 Band
  • R&B Group of the Year: Anissa Hampton H’Funk Band
  • Country Music Award: Burnham Road
  • Singer Songwriter of the Year: Big YaYo
  • Best Engineered Recording: “Played Yourself” by Mr. Sipp
  • National Female Artist of the Year: Nellie “Tiger” Travis
  • National Male Artist of the Year: Tucka
  • Poetry Spoken Word:Amanda Furdge
  • National CD of the Year: “Plain Ole Country Boy” – Jeter Jones
  • Soul Artist of the Year: The J Morris Group
  • National Blues Artist of the Year: Vasti Jackson
  • Mississippi Spotlight Vocalist of the Year: Vickie Baker
  • Best Recording by a Single Artist: “Love Don’t Hurt Me” – Willie Clayton
  • Record of the Year: “Love Don’t Hurt Me” – Willie Clayton
  • King Mose Memorial Award: Melody Hudson
  • Urban Disc Jockey of the Year: Chelle B
  • Musician of the Year: Ben Sterling
  • Entertainer of the Year (The Jobie Martin Award): Stephanie Luckett
  • Hip Hop Female Artist of the Year: Yung Jewelz
  • Hip Hop Male Artist of the Year: Akeem Ali
  • Hip Hop Entertainer of the Year: Dear Silas
  • R&B Disc Jockey of the Year: Stan Branson
  • Jazz Group of the Year: Tiger Rogers and The League of Jazzmen
  • Female Artist of the Year: Stephanie Luckett
  • Male Artist of the Year: Terrell Brinson
  • Soul Video of the Year: “Move On” – J-wonn
  • Statewide R&B Announcer of the Year: Ken Brumfield “AKA Yo Boi Ken” – WTYJ, Natchez, Mississippi
  • National Spotlight JMA Artist of the Year: Dear Silas
  • National Entertainer of the Year: Bobby Rush


A small donation/access fee of $10 enabled fans of the Jackson Music Awards to have a ringside seat to watch all events on Facebook Live. Visit www.jmaainc.com to see Jesse and Donovan as they provide commentary before and after each performance and also listen for some interesting facts about the history of the JMAs.

Brinda Fuller Willis, Ph.D. is a freelance writer for the Jackson Advocate Newspaper since 2001. She is an Independent Consultant, Advice Columnist, Keynote Speaker, ADA Specialist, Grant Writer and winner of the 2019 Mississippi Humanities Council’s Educator Award. ( bfwillis1990@gmail.com/www.brindafullerwillis.com )

Republish This Story

Copy and Paste the below text.

2021 Virtual Jackson Music Awards winners

By Jackson Advocate News Service
August 16, 2021